Notices from the Board of Elections & Registration

Withdrawn Candidates Notice

Notice is hereby given that candidates Marc Urbach and Eddie Hays, candidates for Governor, have officially withdrawn from seeking office in the May 22, 2018 Republican Party General Primary Election.

As required by the Official Code of Georgia, Title 21, Chapter 2, Section 134(a)(2), “all votes cast for such withdrawn candidate shall be void and shall not be counted.”



NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that on the 22nd day of May, 2018, an election will be held at the regular polling places in all the election districts of Morgan County, Georgia (“the County”), at which time there will be submitted to the qualified voters of the county for their determination the question of whether a one percent county special purpose local option sales and use tax (the “SPLOST”) shall be imposed on all sales and uses in the special district created in the County for a period of six (6) years for the raising of approximately $21,760,000.00 for the purpose of funding capital outlay projects (“Projects”) specified in the form of the ballot set forth below.

Shall a special one percent sales and use tax be imposed in the special district of Morgan County for a period of time not to exceed six (6) years and for the raising of an estimated amount of $21,760,000.00 for the purpose of: (1) Morgan County: Debt Service on Public Safety Complex; Public Safety Vehicles, Machinery & Equipment; Renovations to County Buildings; County-Wide Infrastructure Improvements; and Non-Public Safety Vehicles, Machinery & Equipment; (2) City of Madison: Transportation Development & Maintenance; Buildings; Vehicles and Mobile Equipment; Park Improvements & Maintenance; Parks and Greenspace Acquisition; (3) City of Rutledge: Sewer Lift Station; Water Infrastructure; Fears Road Well; New Well SCADA; Sidewalks; City Buildings – Repairs; Truck; (4) City of Bostwick: Water System Infrastructure Improvements; Recreation Facilities Improvements; Road Improvements; Pedestrian Area Improvements; Downtown Restoration Improvements; and (5) Town of Buckhead: Water System Improvements; Capital Improvements for Town Properties; Maintenance Equipment.

All persons who are not registered to vote and who desire to register to vote in the Special Election may register to vote through the close of business on April 24, 2018.

Advance voting will be held at Morgan County Board of Elections and Registration Office, 434 Hancock St., Madison, Ga. 30650, from April 30, 2018 through May 18, 2018, Monday through Friday, and on Saturday, May 12, 2018, from 9:00a.m. to 4:00p.m.

Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.

This the 15th day of February, 2018.

Jennifer Doran, Elections Supervisor

Morgan County, Georgia

This page is for general public information purposes only and is not intended to be a complete listing of elections laws, dates, and policies that govern elections and voter registration in Morgan County and in Georgia.